The Strathcona Medal

The Strathcona Medal is awarded at Presentation Night each year to an Old Strathconian. The medal is given in recognition of excellence in a profession and exceptional service to the wider community in the spirit of the School motto; Bravely. Faithfully, Happily. All Old Strathconians are eligible for nomination.

Nominations – Strathcona Medal 2018

Download the nomination form and return by email, post or in person. Full details can be found on the form.

For further information please email the Community Relations Office or write to:

The Chair of the Strathcona Medal Committee

Strathcona BGGS

34 Scott Street

Canterbury VIC 3126

Recipients of the Strathcona Medal

2016 – Professor Robyn Sloggett – Cultural Heritage

2015 – Joanne Knight – Law and Advocacy

2014 – Professor Kerry Landman – Medicine, Biology, Environment and Industrial

2013 – Nicole Hahn – Engineering

2012 – Natalie Smith – Public Health

2011 – Dr Barbara Martin – Medicine

2010 – Dr Ainsley Newson – Biomedical Ethics

2009 – Dr Heather Cleland – Medicine/Plastic Surgery

2008 – Penelope Foley – Reconciliation

2007 – Professor Winifred G Nayler – Cardiac Physiology

2006 – Jenika Graze – Nursing/Humanitarian

2005 – Val Johnston – Education/Humanitarian

2004 – Margaret Waterhouse OAM – Reconciliation

Enrolment enquiries
Learn more about enrolments, school tours, and how your daughter can benefit from a Strathcona education.
Find out more
Performing Arts at Strathcona: Into the Future
I am delighted to announce the appointment of Ms Jennifer Meachem as our inaugural Head of Performing Arts commencing in 2018. Ms Meachem comes to us with a wealth of experience and knowledge gained from teaching music at leading independent girls’ schools across Melbourne, including Tintern and L...