Kooyong Prize Winners 2014

Principal Helen Hughes, Caitlin, Eleanor and MP Josh Frydenberg.

On December 15, Hon Josh Frydenberg MP, Federal Member for Kooyong and Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister, awarded the Kooyong Student Prize to a group of high-achieving and community minded students at a ceremony held at the MCC Kew Sports Club.

The award is presented every year to two students in each Kooyong school, for:

  • excellence in academic and extra-curricular pursuits;
  • leadership amongst their peers;
  • a strong commitment to upholding the school’s values; and
  • strengthening the community at large.

This year’s deserving Strathcona winners were Caitlin (Year 6) and Eleanor (Year 10). The girls were nominated by Principal Helen Hughes in consultation with teaching staff, because of their high academic achievement, extensive involvement in the activities of the school, proven leadership skills, and strong community values.

Over 200 guests, including students, families and school principals were in attendance to see the winners presented with a medal, lapel pin and certificate. A perpetual plaque was given to Strathcona, inscribed with the girls’ names.